Nov 7, 2014

2014 Election Results

Alert | Government Relations Alert - Ohio

The 2014 mid-term election was dominated by Republicans in Ohio and across the country. On the federal level, the Republican Party maintained control of the U.S. House of Representatives, gaining a net total of 14 seats, for a total of 243. Of Ohio’s 16 U.S. House Districts, 12 are held by a Republican and 4 are held by a Democrat.  All incumbents held onto their seats. The Republican Party also gained control of the U.S. Senate, so far gaining a net total of 8 seats, for a total of 53 Republican Senators.  The Senate race in Louisiana will go to a runoff on December 6th, and in Virginia the race is still too close to call.

In Ohio, Governor Kasich was re-elected with 64% of the vote and winning 86 of Ohio’s 88 counties. The Ohio House Republican Caucus picked up 5 more of the 99 House seats, increasing the Republican majority to 65-34. Republicans are awaiting the results of a recount in the 94th House District to determine if the Republican candidate defeats the incumbent Democrat to increase the Republican majority to 66. The Ohio Senate maintained its 23-10 majority. Justices Sharon Kennedy and Judi French were re-elected to the Ohio Supreme Court maintaining a 6-1 majority for Republicans.

In the text below, an asterisk (*) denotes an incumbent.

Winners are denoted in BOLD.

Governor/Lt. Governor

Incumbent John Kasich has won a second term as Ohio’s Governor. Governor Kasich won the election with 64% of the vote.

•        (R) John Kasich/Mary Taylor*

•        (D) Ed FitzGerald/Sharen Neuhardt

•        (G) Anita Rios/Bob  Fitrakis

Attorney General

Incumbent Mike DeWine has won a second term as Ohio’s Attorney General.  DeWine won the election with 61% of the vote.

•        (R) Mike DeWine*

•        (D) David Pepper

Auditor of State

Incumbent Dave Yost has won a second term as Ohio’s State Auditor. Yost won the election with 57% of the vote.

•        (R) Dave Yost*

•        (D) John Carney

•        (L) Bob Bridges

Treasurer of State

Incumbent Josh Mandel has won a second term as Ohio’s State Treasurer, defeating Connie Pillich with 57% of the vote.

•        (R) Josh Mandel*

•        (D) Connie Pillich

Secretary of State

Incumbent John Husted has won a second term as Ohio’s Secretary of State. Husted won the election with 60% of the vote.

•        (R) John Husted*

•        (D) Nina Turner

•        (L) Kevin Knedler

Ohio Supreme Court

Judi French returned to the Ohio Supreme Court bench after voters affirmed Governor Kasich’s appointment of her two years ago. She won with 56% of the vote.

•        Judi French*

•        John P. O’Donnell

Sharon Kennedy will remain on Ohio’s Supreme Court, having received 72% of the vote, the largest margin of any statewide candidate.

•        Sharon L. Kennedy*

•        Tom Letson

For election results in your Ohio House, Ohio Senate or Congressional District, please click the following links:

Ohio House Results

Ohio Senate Results

U.S. Congress